Beware the Chinese Domain Name Scams

July 18, 2008 – 1:54 pm

Well, I have received a second email from Tony in China, warning I have 2 days to register my Chinese domains before they are taken by some other Company

Upon doing some research here, here and here I have confirmed my initial belief that these are just emails to scare business owners into registering domains they have no need to.

To me the most concerning thing was the talk of “Internet Brand” as above domains and across all jurisdictions.

Seems a load of rubbish to me, due to the fact that jurisdiction on the internet is no simple thing.

So let me introduce Tony…

Email 1

Dear CEO,

We are CNBC Information Technology Co.,Ltd, which is the domain name registration organization in China, which mainly deal with international company’s in china. We have something important need to confirm with your company.

On the July 08, 2008, we received an application formally. One company named ” daxin Investment (China) Co., Ltd” applied for the Internet brand keywords “deepweb” and the Domain names “deepweb.org.cn” “deepweb.asia” etc. . which involve internet intellectual property right of your company.

These days we are dealing with it. In order to deal with this issue better, Please contact me by telephone or email as soon as possible.

Best Regards,
tony

CNBC Information Technology Co.,Ltd
Tel:+86-797-6654451
Fax:+86-797-6654452
www.cnbcgov.org.cn
2008-07-08


tony@idci.org.cn

Hmmm, this looks a bit dodgy, so as a test I replied….

Hi there,

We own deepweb.co.nz and do not have any interest in other domains.

Regards

———————-

Steven Gardner
Deepweb Web Design

Well today I got the reply, Doesnt acknowledge my reply and carries on as if I had ignored his warning.

Hi, I am tony form CNBC Information Technology Co.,Ltd. We had discussed the case about your company’s domain name and internet brand.You have never registered these domain names and internet brand, and I had told you that the domain name registration is open-door. The dispute period will come soon. If your company do not register these domain names and internet brand, we will finish aforesaid company (Daxin Investment(China) Co.,Ltd )’s registration within 2 workdays.Daxin company will become the legal owner of these domain names in the world.

We had notified you, so we are not responsible for any dispute question about intellectual property right and trade mark after they succeed in registration.

If you have any questions, pls contact us within 2 workdays.

Best Regards,
tony

CNBC Information Technology Co.,Ltd
Tel:+86-797-6654451
Fax:+86-797-6654452
www.cnbcgov.org.cn
2008-07-18


tony@idci.org.cn

Well Tony, I am quite happy with my domain name thanks, and a big thanks for thinking about me and my intellectual property.

So if you get an email of something in the post about domain names, always be careful, they are often scams to get you to either transfer your name to them or to register similar but not the same domain name as you already have.

Post a comment if you have had anything similar.Technorati Tags: , ,

  1. 18 Responses to “Beware the Chinese Domain Name Scams”

  2. It is covered here as well:
    http://blog.sinohosting.net/beware-of-chinese-domain-names-fraud/

    By Baidu SEO on Jul 18, 2008

  3. Thanks for this post – I had a very similar scam attempt and this confirmed everything I suspected. Cheers!

    By Andy Kenworthy on Sep 2, 2008

  4. Thanks for this, just got a similar email and couldn’t figure out what it was all about. Suspected it was a hoax, glad to have that confirmed.

    By Simon Young on Mar 23, 2009

  5. Hi there Simon,

    Thanks for that, Hoaxes and scams are a pain in the backside, I see plenty of them, another client asked about Paypal scams and it ended up being the same kind of thing. It was nice that I managed to record this in reasonable detail.

    Cheers

    By Webmaster on Mar 23, 2009

  6. Chineese Domian Name SCAM: BE AWARE

    This company in China has been writing to all
    business to pay money to register their Domain
    Name IN China
    this is scam beware: see below

    By harris on Apr 6, 2009

  7. Just got the exact same mail, this confirmed what i suspected.

    Copy of my mail:

    Dear CEO,

    We are CNBC IT Co.,Limted, which is the domain name registration organization in China, which mainly deal with international company’s in china. We have something important need to confirm with your company.

    On the April 09, 2009, we received an application formally. One company named huaxia Investment (china) Co., Ltd applied for the Internet brand name “justabed” and the Domain names “justabed.cn” “justabed.asia” etc. . which involve internet intellectual property right of your company.

    These days we are dealing with it. In order to deal with this issue better,We would like to get the affirmation of your company,please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible. Please let someone in your company who is responsible for trademark or intellectual right contact me freely.

    Best Regards,
    paul
    CNBC IT Co.,Limted

    Tel:+86-797-6654451
    Fax:+86-797-6654452
    Web:www.cnbcgov.org.cn

    2009-04-09
    paul

    By Rolfenstein on Apr 11, 2009

  8. Thank you for this

    Much appreciated

    B

    By Barry on Jun 10, 2009

  9. Hi there Barry, thanks for the comment. Hope the information helped.

    Cheers

    Steven

    By Webmaster on Jun 10, 2009

  10. Thanks to everyone that took the time to post these comments on the web as I have received the same e-mail this morning!

    By Allison on Jul 23, 2009

  11. Hi there Allison,

    Yes, my clients get these all the time, so I am trying to publish all of the ones I get so people who check on ones they get will find some idea of what these scams will do to get your money.

    Thanks for the comment

    By Webmaster on Jul 23, 2009

  12. They tried to high-jack us this AM. Same letter. Thanks for the post!

    By Cal Walters on Jul 29, 2009

  13. Well done for checking it out! They try all sorts of things.

    By Webmaster on Jul 29, 2009

  14. Thanks , I’ve just got the same email from Tony which really did not smell right. You confirmed my suspicions. Grazie !!!

    By Sandra on Oct 29, 2009

  15. Hi there Sandra,

    You are most welcome, I just hope this can help prevent some damage from these scammers. They just don’t stop! Ciao

    By Webmaster on Oct 30, 2009

  16. A number of Chinese Domain Name providers are trying, in bad faith, to encourage European companies to register a number of Asian domain name extensions. These providers typically claim that they have received a registration request from another company who wishes to register domain names that are identical to your company name.

    What to do?
    Our China IPR SME Helpdesk Experts suggest that in case you receive such an email you have four options:
    1)ignore the email
    2)reply to the email that you will report this email to CNNIC (the Chinese domain name registry) as ‘slamming’ and an attempt at fraudulent activity
    3)forward the email to CNNIC at service@cnnic.cn
    4)Register some of those domain names you may have already considered registering, through your local or usual registrar.

    For more information and free, confidential business-focused advice on Online IPR or any China-related IPR issues visit our website. http://www.china-iprhelpdesk.eu/hd_publication.php
    Or send us an email enquiries@china-iprhelpdesk.eu

    By China IPR SME Helpdesk on Oct 15, 2010

  1. 3 Trackback(s)

  2. Jul 18, 2008: Beware the Chinese Domain Name Scams | AdamDicker.com
  3. Apr 10, 2009: Another Chinese Domain Name Scam - this time using SEDO.com | Deepweb
  4. May 7, 2009: CNBC IT Co. Limted are at it again - More Domain Scams | Deepweb

Post a Comment


Home | Portfolio | Services | Request Quote | Hosting | Domain Names | About Deepweb | Contact Us
© Deepweb Web Design   Our Privacy Policy
Deepweb is proudly powered by WordPress Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS). Designed by Bob

Bad Behavior has blocked 167 access attempts in the last 7 days.